What “What Ifs” Taught Me

tumblr_oh34na80U71vvwd6po1_500
c/o = @infpisme.tumblr.com
Aren’t the “what if’s” of life the most annoying thing to think about?

What if what I want in life isn’t actually what I want? What if things were different? What if I’m right where I’m supposed to be and don’t know it? What if I’m not? What if” kind of questions never end and never leave you alone.

I’ve had a lot of time to think about my What If’s a lot this week, and it’s actually really emotionally taxing with a sense of relief. I say this with the fact my what if thought process this week was the byproduct of being in a solitude state and current life events.

So what have I concluded?

  • Don’t dwell on your what ifs for too long. It consumes every little bit of you, and distracts you from the now; from what you have going on in the present. You might actually be missing out on experiences you’re undergoing in the now.
  • Don’t set yourself up for regret. If you have something to say, say it. Within the right context of course. If it were to cause harm to any one in any way, maybe not then, haha. But don’t hold back, especially if you feel strongly about something. You might look back at yourself in a couple years, and beat yourself up for not being able to say what you needed to say.
  • Remind yourself that no matter how things might have turned out for you right now, you’re right where you’re supposed to be. I’m a big believer in the idea that life happens the way it should, and things happen for a reason. Of course I still believe that you make your own fate, but with that being said, the choices you make are part of your destiny and make up where you’re supposed to be. You made that choice for a reason.

In all honesty, this was my healthy way of ranting about life. Again, life is so crazy sometimes and can blind side you in an instant, changing everything. But, I’m extremely thankful for these life lessons and these moments where I’m constantly just tickling my brain.

“What ifs” are healthy and normal. They should be embraced with open arms, no matter how hurt you are by certain outcomes or situations or simply if it’s a matter you can look back on and laugh. It’s an extremely difficult process to make your “what ifs” into some sort of reality, and that’s where sometimes

‘What ifs’ should stay  exactly that; ‘what ifs’.

Thanks for helping me turn these new pages, 

♥ Karla

Leave a Reply

