Guilty Pleasures #1

Guilty pleasures. Admit it, you have one. We ALL do. 

I’m always in some sort of phase where I’m obsessing over something. Whether it be a type of video I watch on the internet, a new musical artist, a tv show, or maybe something completely random. I feel like I’m just fan-girling over something all. the. time. With that being said, I introduce to you my new Guilty Pleasure segment! Every now and then, I will be sharing an accumulation of things I’m currently obsessed with, but constantly beat myself up for liking, only because they’re things that are considered “time-wasters” and I know I could be doing something more productive with my time (like, studying perhaps?). But hey, that’s what makes the following Guilty. Pleasures.

1 – MTV’s: The Challenge 

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 9.13.29 PM.png

Reality television alone is a major guilty pleasure of mine. I. LOVE. REALITY. TV! It’s ridiculously embarrassing, because I’m very aware that it depicts reality really poorly, and is crazy edited. But something about all the drama in reality shows really just entices me.

The Challenge is a series I’ve been religiously watching, for what seems like, forever! It’s a show where reality starts from a variety of different MTV reality shows (The Real World, Road Rules, Are You the one?, etc.) come together with the sole purpose of wanting to win a huge cash prize. In order to win, you must complete physical tasks, mental tasks, and avoid being eliminated to make it to the final.

This current season just started, and Tuesday’s are literally the highlight of my week because of new episodes. This season’s plot is ridiculous. In shows with reoccurring characters, Veterans usually dominate since they’re the more experienced and have a grasp on how to win the whole thing because they have in the past, or just have been in a lot of challenges before. In this INVASION season, a bunch or rookies as well as veterans (that have never won a challenge before) go up against each other, thinking everything is fair game since it’s the first season without experienced Vets that have won before. Little do they know, a team of 8 VERY SUCCESSFUL Vets whom have won in the past are going to ruin their lives, and go up against them. It’s the plot of experienced vs. not experienced in the fight to the finish.

2 – The Brain Candy Podcast (also available to listen to on Spotify!)

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 9.14.15 PM.png

Speaking of reality stars, Sarah Rice Patterson (one of my favourite cast mates from The Real World/The Challenge) and Susie Meister (Road Rules and The Challenge) are the best of friends and started their own podcast together. Sarah’s super dorky and knows a lot of random facts (which I love) and Susie has a PhD in Religion Studies, so she’s super insightful in a ton of subjects since she can see everything in an interesting lens.

I’ve stopped listening to music on the hour long bus rides to and from University and have been listening to this podcast non-stop. I look pathetic because some of their topics make me laugh, so I sit there and have this stupid half smile on my face that probably looks ridiculously creepy.

The podcast is the best of both worlds for me, because they always give out details about The Challenge that aren’t released normally to the public, as well as talk about random, but important topics that really tickle your brain.

They also favourited one of my tweets and I died a lot on the inside.

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 9.10.29 PM.png

3 – Makeup Organization videos

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 9.15.08 PM.pngDisclaimer, but I haven’t actually watched those two videos specifically. Trust when I say that makeup organization videos are the only videos I’ve been watching on YouTube for the last few months.

I don’t regret it though. I’ll actually give a big thanks to these videos for turning my life around and igniting a need to be organized, because to be honest, I’ve never been this organized in my LIFE. 

4 -Hoarding Lipsticks 

803119712_12288069723106103483

This and the next guilty pleasure aren’t really things I waste my time on, it’s more objects that I waste my money on.

Lipstick’s something I’ve been accumulating over the last couple months because I felt a need to fill up the two lipstick organizers that I have, completely. It’s ridiculous and I cannot justify the amount of lipstick I have because I don’t even wear them all. My collection is smaller compared many other people, but if I really want to start living that minimalistic life (which, let’s be honest, I know isn’t right for me), I need to start getting rid of some.

*says as she watches youtube for lipstick reviews*

5 – AND Hoarding Nail polish

804201110_18222650911360889614

All I’m going to say is that I went through a phase where I bought a [affordable] nail polish almost every day because I was stressed out over exams. Oh, and my campus has nail polish sales for OPI and Essie that make them only $3. HOW CAN YOU EVEN RESIST THAT?

I just really like nail polish and change my nail colour like every week.


Well that was all for this round of Guilty Pleasures.

What are some of yours? 

Thanks for helping me turn these new pages, 

♥ Karla

Leave a Reply

